Tracks

I get to work teaching canoeing. One of the small wonders of this job is spending time connecting with the animals that have left a shadow of their souls in the footprints they leave on the beach.
Two of my favourites: the elusive mustelid, the mink, whose slinky body and webbed feet adorn sand as it goes foraging for fish and small rodents. second, the muskrats, whose tracks remained a mystery to me for years, with their special halo of hair on their bare feet to help with swimming. These two share in a predator/prey relationship, both have beautiful pelts, and both leave me excited when I leave my tracks alongside theirs.

20130107-154700.jpg

20130107-154727.jpgmink

20130107-154910.jpgmuskrat

2 responses to “Tracks

  1. Whenever I go for a walk, I am on the lookout for animal tracks in the sand, mud, or snow. It helps me learn what animals are active, especially those that travel and forage at night.

  2. sophie pilipczuk

    beautifully written. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

