Eating bugs

My sister had her birthday out in the country, and naturally, the nephews were there. Someone needed to watch them out in the front garden where they can play. I figured it would be a fun activity to try my hand at harvesting grasshoppers with them. In a few hours, we harvested a quarter of a ball jar of grasshoppers, most of which were fat from stealing kale from the garden. I brought them home and froze them to kill them, then removed the heads and legs. I fried them up in butter and chilli and shared them with my roommate ( seen below) because eating grasshoppers kind of freaked me out. But guess what? They were delicious, and honestly quite beautiful! Hooray!

20121226-183531.jpg

20121226-183558.jpg

One response to “Eating bugs

  1. My gosh! You do some of the craziest things!

Leave a Reply

