Kraut Update

For the first time in my Kraut-making career, I had a batch go bad. I opened up one of the 2 jars I sealed 3 days ago, and out seeped the nastiest fart smell I’ve ever smelt in my life. It made me gag!

After doing some research, I figured out that that smell is bad bacteria that bred because there was not enough water in my jar. One website suggested a pretty good remedy: Use a widemouth jar, and weigh your kraut down with a smaller jar full of water, to ensure that it is covered by water.

Lesson learned!

Luckily my second batch turned out pretty good.

Do you have any bad fermenting stories?

Leave a Reply

