Flicker Feather

The other day, while sitting in the grass after visiting a marsh, I found a flicker feather. Flicker feathers are some of the easiest to identify. In Eastern North America, we have yellow shafted flickers. Put simply, the quill of the feather is yellow! Out west, they tend to be orange! I love these feathers.

source

Flickers are one of the coolest birds I’ve ever seen. Once, on a walk, my friend Merilee and I noticed a flicker on the ground, pecking at the concrete. As we got closer, we realized that the flicker was eating ants in the cracks of the sidewalk.

Check out the chest hair and moustache on this guy! Amazing!

One response to “Flicker Feather

  1. Found some Flicker feathers while on a walk today on some of our property and the yellow quill caught my attention. At first I thought they were arrow fletchings. Wasn’t sure what it was til I saw your photo. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

