Local Food Challenge

Already, folks. Every year, I take on some sort of challenge that helps me grow and learn. This past year, it was simply surviving my first year of school. This upcoming semester, however, I have more elaborate plans.

I plan to eat local food, starting August 24th, until I leave for africa late december. There are only 4 exceptions to this rule: Coconut milk, wild rice, quinoa, and herbs/spices.

I already have my CSA basket all lined up, as well as a local organic meat producer. I know its easy to find eggs and dairy products that are local, so the real challenge will be cooking every meal, and making time to go shopping/curbing my eating out habits. Woohoo! I’m excited for this challenge, and I should learn a lot from it.

More updates on my year long challenges to come. Cheers!

One response to “Local Food Challenge

  1. Pingback: Living Organisms in my Kitchen AKA Sauerkraut | Confessions of an Urban Naturalist

Leave a Reply

