Raccoon Fest

A few years ago, one of the craziest foods I’ve ever eaten entered my mouth. This is the story of raccoon fest.

The guys found a fresh roadkill raccoon, and decided to take it home. We skinned it, and my girlfriends and I worked the hide while the raccoon got butchered and turned to bbq ribs and sausages. I left the hide working station to harvest some blackberries for ash cakes to provide for the meal. Another friend got our fire going using her bow drill kit, and so the raccoon was cooked on that.

It was amazing to be sitting around a mostly wild fire, with a mostly wild meal. As I looked around our circle, it was clear that we were mostly wild people too! I’ve been on a few adventures of this nature, and the feeling of turning back the clock and sitting around the village with my people never ceases to amaze me.

I finished work on that raccoon hide, and it now sits in my hide box. Whenever I take it out, I remember that night.

***CAUTION: RACCOONS ARE INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS ANIMALS TO EAT AS THEY CAN CARRY ANYTHING FROM RABIES TO DEADLY PARASITES. THIS IS NOT A EXPERIMENT I WOULD REPRODUCE!***

Leave a Reply

