hows it going, folks?

Here I am, sitting in Les Schwab while my friend Michelle gets her car fixed, eating stale popcorn and old coffee. Feels good to be home, hanging out with my home girl. This isn’t usually what days are like here in Washington state, where I was a student for two years, and have now returned to for a visit. These past few weeks have been hella fun– from shooting bows, flint knapping, learning to shoot a .22, trailing a family of cougars, and catching fish and various aquatic insects with 5-10 year olds. Yep, thats more like it.
But, if you’re like me, a country girl (or boy) stuck in a city life, there are things you can do to bring that country feel back. In this blog, I will outline my adventures as a student of anthropology in Montreal, QC, an urban naturalist, survivalist, and mentor. I will share with you recipes, ideas, cool facts, and general nature info you may enjoy, and that may just brighten your day. Some things might be shocking, like processing road kill for food or dumpstering delicious fruits and veggies, and some things may remind you of your grandma, like knitting projects and jam making. I guarantee that I am neither an extremist, nor an old lady. I’m just a girl whose passionate about self sufficiency.

hope you join me on my quest!

Leave a Reply

